August 2015

Chat

August isn’t my most favorite month but it has definitely been great this time around. I sneakily took 2 holidays this month, making use of the last summer month to go trapezing around.

DSC02553 (1280x904)My first was to North Wales. Transport absolutely sucks, but I’d gladly leave the South and move up. It is stunning. Families go crabbing on the weekend. CRABBING! I want to go crabbing and ice cream eating along piers every weekend. I am sad that I didn’t get to see any puffins even after all my walking, but I’ve never had luck with wildlife. So I got myself a puffin pin to make up for it 😀
Conwy is lovely, it has a lovely fish shop hidden on the bay, but you’ll see all the locals with boxes, can’t really miss it. DSC02587 (1280x851)Slightly oily, but very crispy. Parisellas ice cream is great. And the thing I loved most about Conwy was that they had all these quaint shops where you could get music boxes and toys from eons ago that you could never find today. Almost like stepping back in time.

I headed off to Puffin Island in Penmon passing the priory and well, talking to strangers on the way. Sadly walked all the way there, had triple chocolate cake, which was delish.. then walked all the way back.DSC02649 (905x1280) Beaumaris does by far the most beautiful castle, at least I think so. I’m a little OCD and I like my castles to be rounded with perfect moats and drawbridges. Red boat ice cream is mindblowing and there is a line, always! Don’t think you can come back when it’s less crowded; just queue up. The town also has a Popeye burger joint with a burger to meet every character and a candy store called A Penny Farthing, which weirdly reminded me of My Fair Lady. And then I headed off to the base of Snowdon via Cernarfon – which also has a massive squarish castle, but they Hole in the Wall St. Cracked me up! I love holes in the wall. (No PUN what-so-ever)DSC02747 (1280x851)
Next day up Snowdon, dragging my unfit body huffing and puffing, but the views! DAMN! Worth it. 3 hours up, 2 hours down and then traveling back to Conwy.

DSC02794 (1280x851)The following morning I was starting to feel how unfit I was, had to practically lift myself off the bed, and off I went to Holyhead, this time walking at a much slower pace, only because my body was aching in so many places. Walked through fields to get to South Stack. It has quite a majestic lighthouse – again, no luck with the puffins. Saw lots and lots of horses. ❤
Last and final day to Llandadnuo. Very tourist town. Found the mad hatter, but not Alice. Went up to Great Orme on DSC02878 (1280x905)the tramline and to the Copper mines, which was quite interesting – location wise. It was a lovely sunshiney day, so I had a double scoop of ice cream – toffee cheesecake and ferrero rocher. I’m such a child. Then hoped on my train back to the South.

Work – been going to deliveries on my own. It’s been a bit traumatic but let’s not think about those. Doing cranial ultrasounds on my own. Managing to get cannulas in. We have this ANNP student who is absolutely lovely, we hit it off and bless her – she’s been really great. She cracks me up, and I’ve come up with a good line to tell myself and others when shit hits the roof, which it does without fail at some time or the other in our lives – SORT YOURSELF OUT! I also went into work twice when I wasn’t supposed to – pulling Annas, I call it. But the second time, got together with the other Lankan Dr and went shopping in Cardiff. Got a cute dress from the childrens section. Sometimes it is joyful that you can shop in both sections. ^.^

Z got married. Her dress looked lovely. I’m still waiting on photos which will hopefully come soon, but I bet she looked amazing. I’ve been a lil lost this month, but Alhamdulillah for great friends and adopted children who just speak their hearts out. Monu, you are one of them. Random chats, catching up, summarizing the big shit – I got you girl. Anas, you are the other – thanks for just getting out and saying it – you know I got you. You are such a nerd face, you’ll be a great engineer when you decide you are ready to graduate. Oh I do have to shout out to NQB and Arafath because they too got married officially, and my baby girl got engaged even though I specifically told her not to without me. It’s all forgiven. Van, thank you for keeping in touch though I’m terrible at doing that. Duffy, pink smarties bro! 😉 Thank you for returning the friendship and being there to pick me up – fist bump for life ❤ I do have to sneak in M here, just because we had a heart-to-heart after a long LONG time. AND DEEPS IS BACK!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

DSC02925The Drs rotate next month, so we all went out for a meal and drinks and most of us to a Jazz club after, with live music. It was good fun. Just nice to get out of the hospital and dress up, eat, laugh, walk around Cardiff till late and get home at 0130 am after a tiring night shift the day before. That lemon pavlova :O I want another please. #cosyatcosy

Made a trip to Exeter to see Deeps with dark chocolate. Weather wasn’t great, but the company. Gave my heart so much peace. Dragged her along to Torquay, had fancy Thai food, went up on the Torquay Eye – had the starting of a panic attack, so closed my eyes and cringing with her laughing endlessly at my silliness. But that resolved after a Devon clotted cream tea, well with coffee. DSC02990 (1280x905)We bought this board game which we thought we’d play at night, but ended up talking till we fell asleep, so played the trivia/trickery game over coffee in the morning before wandering around Exeter in search of the quay. Found a bookstore with old and interesting treasures and got a book for 3 birthdays. The quay had converted cellars – so of course we went to the coffee cellar 😉 and had smoothies. Because that’s how we roll. I also had this polenta lemon cake with pistache. Surprisingly tasty! I was so sad to leave her. It’s good to have her close though.

Music:
Life After You – Daughtry
Marvin Gaye – Charlie Puth ft Meghan Trainor
Flashlight – Jessie J
Where Are U now? – Skrillex & Diplo ft Justin Bieber
Don’t Be Too Hard On Yourself – Jess Glynne
Are You With Me? – Lost Frequencies

Leave a tear drop, heart break or brilliant smile :-)

