April 2015

Standard

April is a tricky month. Let’s start with April Fools – definitely the highlight was Miss Kayes’ mom fool on her daughter. Still cracks me up!

lionessI got a random FB message from an old Malaysian friend from college saying that he went through all my poetry pieces and encouraged me to keep writing – honestly, those sort of praises don’t come every day. Not that that is the reason that I write, but it was just nice I guess.

DSC01787 (1280x905)Headed to Dxb with mather (ie mother) and we went flea market shopping – it was insane. I love treasures from other peoples closets. I got myself 4 funky tops for such a throw away price. Then I met up with the skinny Mona and her Komal and there was a Komel meet Komal situation which I find so much joy in, but that’s just me. We said bye bye to Mona darling and her Komal, and ran to the Dubai Poetry Slam – got to watch Abdulnassir perform his “Beyonce” piece, but the killer was definitely Afrah Ateeq! We also did a Hummingbirds vs Magnolia cupcake analysis, Magnolia won. But I’m thinking of giving the original Hummingbirds in London another try when I’m in town.

“Why is it so difficult to live honestly with the person you love?
This world is a bureaucratic mess.”
This was a comment on HONY – facebook

warmestI found a video that highlights Seattles rain art – that’s going on my #bucketlist 🙂

The pleasant, earthly smell on earth after the rain is called Petrichor. I love that smell and I’m glad to have found the right word.

My parents celebrated their 30th (pearl) wedding anniversary. That’s a long time. God bless them and may He make the rest of their days easy.

Checked out the Third Place Cafe. It was fun. I’ve definitely missed Orange Chocolate drinks, and got my fix there. Reasonably quaint place! I’d go again with cafe appropriate people.

I took some Jummah (friday prayer) photographs focusing on children. This is my favorite one. He can’t be more than 10 years old, but his urgency in his rush to prayer – it just caught my heart.

DSC01767 (907x1280)

Finished my #singlepringlecollection of 10 poems. Some weren’t as great as I had hoped.

People break their promises all the time, sometimes out of ill-will, and sometimes simply out of their fragile humanness. It is only Allah whose promises are never broken and whose promises are eternal. He promises us forever – on the condition that we fight against our fragility and selfishness to uphold our promise to Him too.
“So be patient, Indeed, the promise of Allah is truth.” (30:60)

Did you know that chimichangas is a real thing?! I’m trying those out one day!

I finally finally got my sponsorship papers. Now it’s visa time (Getting excited again)…

Dragged dad along with me to Al Muneera to get authentic Sicilian cannolis. I was not disappointed. Yes to cheese always. I also snuck in a few sunset photographs as you can see.

DSC01845 (1280x842) (1280x842)

Passed my BLS for the 2nd time – woot woot. Also gained a massive bruise from it and muscle ache, so please, nobody die on me.

bestGot asked for my ID – apparently I don’t look over 21! -.-

Z visited and we walked endlessly in the sun, discovered a white sandy beach. So beautiful.

No earthquake can shake your hearts – Solidarity for Nepal
That’s where I want to be, helping, putting my hands and heart to use!

I tripped to Alain. Went to sweet palace and got a lil crazy with all the things they have – bought so much goodies.

This month I went on a bit of a baking spree. I made mint chocolate brownies, chocolate cassata cake, strawberry angel cake and pumpkin granola muffins which all turned out surprisingly well. Oh! and lots of pancakes.

browniespancakescassatastrawmuffins

I also finally finished reading Lang Leav’s Lullabies and here are a few excerpts from it that I loved immensely:

  •  What I will tell you is this; it’s okay to be hurting as much as you are. What you are feeling is not only completely valid but necessary – because it makes you so much more human. And though I can’t promise it will get better anytime soon, I can tell you that it will – eventually.
  • Our love – a dead star;
    to the world it burns brightly
    But it died long ago
  • She learned too late that poets are among the damned, cursed to commiserate over their loss, to reach with outstretched hands.
  • The thoughts we each keep
    that are closest to heart
    we think as we sleep –
    and you’re always my last.
  • We’re kids, aren’t we?
    Yes, kids with grown up powers.
Leave a tear drop, heart break or brilliant smile :-)

