The Pieces I Wish I Didn’t Need

Standard

As we live each day of our lives, we gather pieces. Pieces of memories of people, of places, of moments. There wasn’t a day where I didn’t fit a piece into my heart on my trip back to my motherland that I can now call home without fear.

Family

I fell in love. I literally fell in love. And realized why people have children and huge families. After seeing all five of them and being enveloped in their scheming, mischief and laughter, I just couldn’t help it. Their selflessness was so rare, I miss it everyday. I miss them everyday.
#Yahya – you see things that you shouldn’t and you do things like you’ve lived longer than me.
#Yaqub – my darling, my cameraman, my DJ, my jealous little drama queen!
#Mohammad – your cheeky smile is in my mind always, brainiac and wise-ass.
#Nabeela – queen, but be gentle, everything will be yours one day.
#Ahmed – someone should kidnap you because you do have a cute smile, you foodie monster.
You are my heart, every breath I breathe.

It was a great joy baking bucket loads of cookies. Of course it’s very strange that all three of you have such different personalities, but then our family is filled with too much spice.
Be awesome. Be yourselves. Be kind. Be us 😉
Ganging up to tease #Shahara with an old crush, who is really drool-worthy now; fighting over clothes with #Izrah; force-feeding #Miesha and hanging her upside down.

My family just got a little bit bigger this time and lots closer! Thank you for letting me into your life and making me feel welcome like I’ve known you since childhood…
#Nizran – Live. You are too young for anything serious. There will be someone new. Don’t be afraid. You have me. Anytime. P.S. Thanks for my first experience of isso-vada!
#Niveen – Don’t work so hard. Take a break. Travel. Try new things. There is a time for permenancy, and that time is not now. P.S. Thanks for improving my Sinhalese immensely!
#Sachin – Very excited for you to be a lawyer. Hope you get a seat. And always remember your family first.
#Shaveen – Calm down. Smile more. Be young. Love your ferocious love of family. It’s beyond amazing.
#Shakeel – Sometimes it’s like you have split-personality, but yet you are adorable. Be nice to your sister. She has your back. Study hard and play harder.
#Raabiya – You are a lost-birdie. I have finally put it down that you’ve got energy to be out-there because you store it at home. Everything will be alright.
#Afraa – Ramadan was super with you. Let’s do that again! Oh.. and another play too, and sneaking you into the IYD party.
#Shehaani – Your kindness is out of this world. You will be great some day and I want to see that. Don’t change a thing.

You, who I’ve grown with, played in the mud with, teased mercilessly, learnt new things with, and shared secrets.
#Arafath, you crackerjack. I love you. But it’s time to be responsible. Sorry for being far, but we are always cool, no matter what. Fighting over cutlets, kievs and bed space is always fun. So were the lifts to work.
#Mizna, engaged! Yey.. Congrats and all the best. Lunches are always entertaining and sometimes slightly confusing.
#Ayeshah da, I still don’t know if it’s a good thing that you are expecting a baby boy or not, only time will tell if it will great or history repeating itself.

Friends

#Raashid, for finally waking up and being yourself completely, for sharing my tears in the middle of the night, for your some-what unhealthy obsession with hot chocolate, for being emotionally up and down, for the love and protectiveness, for crazy ManUtd!
#Geethika&Dino, it started with Old Joes and ended with Jesus Christ Superstar. Sadly there was nothing in between, except TNLOnstage. There is always next time. Every time is a pleasure.
#Alex, don’t ever give up on your voice. It’s beautiful and sweet. Thanks for playing for me and letting me sing beside you on that cool, summer night. Best fun EVER!
#Hishama, hope the maltesers were good. I’m sad we didn’t get a chance to hang out as much. Next time, let’s get out for longer and really catch up. Thanks for all the support.

Baby dolls., the office wouldn’t ever be the same without you girls. Made me feel young and girly. You inspire me to aspire.
#Pathanchali – love your faces
#Khavya – love your gangsta chic style
#Hasangani – oh you sad story
#Surovi, you are a blessing in disguise. Firstly for being a foodie. Next for being a traveller. And lastly, for living on the next lane.
#Park, your noodles were great! Your apartment is lovely. It was really sweet of you to have us all over for a small taste of Korea.
#Husni, wait till your family learns about your girlfriend, you overachiever, foot-in-everything personality!

And the unexpected shocker.
#B, truthfully, this time you took me by surprise, the good kind. Thank you for being awesome always and never letting that awesomeness go. YOU made me miss home! YOU made me feel special. And for once, YOU made me shed a few happy tears. I will never find another like YOU ever.
#R, I’d like to know what’s happened to you? Are you going soft on me? Thank you for coming. I didn’t take you seriously. I should have. It was good to see you.
I enjoyed traveling with you both. Amaze-balls five days, without the unnecessary stress that came along. Photo-bombing was the best, next to the leopard that no one saw.

I’ve got lots of beauty to hold on to, lot of good times, lot of surprises, lot of love!

One response »

Leave a tear drop, heart break or brilliant smile :-)

