Lead The Way

Standard

From kindergarten all through university and even beyond we have leaders. Our class monitors, prefects, bosses and even our older siblings and cousins. But the question is, are they leading us in the right direction? Are they showing the best sides of them or is the power affecting their judgment?

As vague as I can remember, I particularly loved the heads and prefects at my elementary school. They were hard working, studious and especially kind. Maybe it was because I didn’t understand politics at that time, but I knew then that I wanted to be just like them one day. Leading!

The more I grew up and changed school, I began to understand lots of things about leadership and I witnessed different types of leaders – the arrogant ones, the kind ones, the casual ones, the strict ones, the understanding ones, the reliable ones and the selfish ones.

That never deterred me from my dream of one day being a leader. The kind, selfless ones really pushed me forward and the wonderful experience I got from them in my younger years gave me the courage to stand strong and do the best I can for myself and those around me.

However at one point in time, I was faced with leaders I detested. I didn’t agree with their ideas or their enforcement of the school law. It was a terrible period in my school years. They were ruthless and had no compassion for those below them. Their word was law. That didn’t settle well with me. And I definitely gave them hell for it.

Moving on from there, I was once again faced with leaders who were flexible and compassionate. Who understood student needs. I thrived there like all my classmates and collage-mates. Every activity those leaders undertook had an immensely positive response, it was mind blowing.

Now, while I go through university and we are a diverse bunch, I must say, who have gone through several leaders and I must say, it’s been an awful affair from day one itself. It’s all about politics now. The sad truth is every leader should play some politics else he won’t survive long. Something I failed to learn a long time ago.

Leaders have many hurdles to go through before they are deemed fit, but some leaders put themselves in that position of power with only thoughts of their benefits without any thought about those they have to lead. It’s the end of the story as long as they are satisfied.

But if you are going to be a leader, don’t choose to be a leader like that. Be strong. Be true to yourself and those around you who look up to you and who need your help and guidance. Yes, you won’t be able to satisfy everyone, but you will always know in your heart what the difference is between right and wrong.

If you want to be at the top for the sake of spite, it’s rather better you don’t. You will most definitely not have an easy time at the top. However, if you want to be a leader to help others, to take initiative to make some changes, then go for it. The journey will be hard but it will be worth it to make your dreams come true.

Being a leader can be a wonderful thing. It can change your life if you let it. It can open your eyes to the simple joys and the painful plight of others. It will make you stronger for the entire burden you will have to carry. It will make you successful in whatever you chose to do in the future.

Not everyone is born with these leadership qualities but some people can develop it with the right sort of encouragement and guidance from their leaders. Not all leaders are born leaders, some leaders are made.

It’s not a game. It’s not all politics. It’s not all happiness or stress-free. If you do your part well, you will always hold a special place in the hearts of all those you have helped personally, academically, socially or otherwise. I know it’s true because I look back fondly at those who were with me through my difficult times.

You don’t always need to be labeled a leader to be one. Sometimes, those around you make you one. They come to you at times of need and they know that they can rely on you. You are the first person they can turn to and trust for guidance. It’s truly a wonderful feeling.

Strive to be a leader. A great one! It takes just one person to change the world, be that person. It will be worth every minute!!! Be charitable with your heart and mind. Remember that only the person who gives out love gets love in return.

Leave a tear drop, heart break or brilliant smile :-)

